ANEMBERINTIMEPHARPERSVGRAPHICS

Genre: Christian Fiction
Book Release Date: Publisher: eLectio Publishing (March 30, 2016)
ISBN-10: 1632132265
ISBN-13: 978-1632132260

 

balaam_22_480x640

About The Author

Anna M. Aquino is a super fabulous woman of God, wife, and ninja mom of two daughters. As a writer, guest minister, and host of an online interview show, Anna’s passion is to encourage others to fulfill their own destinies. Often referred to as a preacher and a comedian rolled into one, she believes laughter is one of the best ways to get people to think. She is the author of many works including Cursing the Church or Helping it? and Confessions of a Ninja Mom. Her first fiction book An Ember In Time is now on the market. She has been interviewed on places such as TBN and the Gospel Channel. She and her family do travel for ministry, Anna is based out of Central Ohio.


Welcome all.

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing (Anna M. Aquino) author of (many works, most recently An Ember In Time)

Hi (Anna), thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I am a wife, Ninja Mom of 2 girls, published author, ordained minister, and host of ‘Real Solutions’.  I am also a pet parent of a long haired dachshund named Mojo.  I was born and raised in Central Ohio, lived in Florida for 13.5 years and am now living in Central Ohio again.  I’ve heard people equate me with a minister, comedian, and writer all rolled into one.   My goal is just to run full force into what God has called me to do, and to make Jesus as famous as possible in the process.  (grin)  I have been very blessed to be on programs like TBN and the Gospel Channel.  I’ve published two other books called, ‘Cursing the Church or Helping it?’ and ‘Confessions of a Ninja Mom’.  I have also written articles for places like Ministry Today.com and parentingpink.com.

 

  • When did you write your first book?

My father was a grunt soldier in Vietnam, and I grew up listening to his stories.  They were a part of my upbringing.  God called me into ministry at 12 and at 16 I saw the movie Forrest Gump.  I couldn’t shake the scenes with Forrest in Vietnam.  I just knew that God wanted me to tell my father’s story.  So I started to try to write it.  I realized quickly that I wasn’t able to, and while I put the project on the shelf while getting my BA and getting married.  So every time my father would start telling stories I would record it or take notes.  I found myself expecting my oldest daughter and being very frustrated about writing this book.  I knew it was what God wanted me to do, but I kept saying “I can’t do that”.  I was in a service where the person preaching was a woman who was talking about the power of our words.   What she was saying was that “God spoke and it was thus we need to realize our world is shaped by what we say.”  I repented to God for continuing to say I couldn’t do what I knew he was calling me to do.  Long story short, the rough draft of my first book was finished in two months.  That was 15 years ago.  That book, while still hasn’t been published in its complete form, it is what started it all.  I started writing and getting turned down everywhere, and kept doing that.  Eventually things started to happen.  ‘Cursing the church or Helping it?’ was my first published book.  I think that was the 9th one I had written.  I’m now working on my 26th book, with 3 that are on the market and published.

 

  • What does your family think of your writing?

There is often a joke in the family that anything they say can and will be used in a book, blog, or sermon.  We have often joked over what can be used and what can’t be used especially now that my kids are getting older.  I have two girls (14 and almost 10). My husband is usually the one behind the camera.  I always say that he is the string on the balloon that holds me down in a good way and keeps me grounded. Some of my family is my biggest fans, and some are never quite sure as to what to do with me.  I have heard my mother say that one thing about me as a child was that I was always very imaginative.  My mother has often been the first reader of most of my books.

 

  • As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

Until God called me into ministry at 12, I wanted to be a singing actress.  But once God called me into ministry, though I wasn’t sure what to do with that, I knew that somewhere I would be in some form of ministry.  For a long time I thought that would mean a Pastor or a missionary, but God knew how uniquely I fit, and I am glad to be running toward that.

 

  • What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I seriously tried to take a profile assessment once to find a new hobby, and it told me I should take up writing.  I love spending time with my family.  I LOVE outdoor activities, though now that I am back in the north I can only do those certain times of the year.  I love to canoe.  I love to hike.  I can be a bit of a crafter.  I love to read.  I love people.

 

  • Do you write on a computer, dictate or longhand?

Computers . . . can’t live without them…Can’t throw them out of windows.  Seriously I type like 65wpm, because my mother made me take typing in high school and I had a pastor that used to have me transcribe a lot of his sermons.  So I do everything by computer.  I always teach people to get their books out on the page and then go back later and make it look pretty.  I am so glad we live in a day where we have the technology to do that.  I am not sure I could have written my books long hand.  I put on praise and worship music usually and out flow words.

 

  • Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future?

I was so green to the industry when I wrote my first book.  I didn’t know how things worked.  I became a victim to a couple predatory agents in which I paid for.  First lesson everyone needs to know is if an agent charges you up front then they aren’t a legitimate agent. Agents make money when you make money.

 

Also I once went on a radio show that I knew nothing about.  I agreed to do it because I was so excited to get on any kind of program.  Unfortunately the lady who did the program didn’t really want me on her show to talk about my book, my perspective, or me for that matter.  She continued on a long monologue and I had to interrupt her to get a word in.  She just wanted me on her show for the cross publicity.  I have done a lot of radio and TV programs since. It helped me learn how to treat the guests on my interview show.  It also made me be more aware of whose program I am on, etc.

 

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview with us. Hope the fans have learned some really cool new and exciting thing.

 

Thank you for having me.  🙂

 


an_ember_in_time_front_cover_art_flattened_v2_1.jpg

About The Book

Pastor Jon Stevens has grown weary trying to argue with his church over every little thing. His passion in life has felt as if it has fizzled in front of him. He is caught in a downward spiral. He would rather keep his feelings on a shelf and just visit them on occasion as he needed to. He keeps a plastic smile on his face. Sometimes he imagines himself as a used car salesmen. He throws on a cheap suit every Sunday. He trying desperately to peddle the same God that everyone in his town seems to know about and has heard of before, and where does it get him? He knows his attitude is wrong. But if he walked down to Charley’s Auto Bonanza and got a job; at least he would be making commission.

However, that is when God steps in. God sends Sergio a time traveling angel to give him the opportunity to experience any time in Biblical History with the stipulation that he not interact with anyone. He goes back to watch David kill Goliath. Due to a chance encounter on the road with a very young Bathsheba carrying a basket of flowers, Jon makes his crucial mistake. He has to fix the past before it unravels the future. Little does Jon know that God has sent him on the mission to prepare him for his future.

An Ember In Time is an excellent read for anyone who loves a first-rate adventure.

Read the Excerpt

What Others Are Saying

“Anna Aquino’s uniquely anointed and creative writing is evident in this book, “An Ember in Time”. Guided by the Holy Spirit and given the hand of the ready writer, it will grasp your attention from start to finish! These pages are filled with her experiences and inspired imagination for the first in a series of great adventures.”
Hank and Brenda Kunneman
Senior Pastors of Lord of Hosts Church & Founders of One Voice Ministries

Connect Socially

Twitter  | Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Author Bookstore 

Tour hosted by Write Now Literary

WNL banner

Follow the tour: Author page

